The Abyss Movie Set: Gaffney, SC

Map

The set for the movie, The Abyss, was left in place in Gaffney, SC due to cost of taking it down. Does anyone have any information regarding the place? The following is copied from another site but is a great account of someone else’ urban exploration.

From A Screen Near You 

Underwater scenes were filmed in the containment building of Cherokee Nuclear Power Plant (35.037° N 81.512° W), an unfinished nuclear power plant near Gaffney, South Carolina, in the United States. It took 26.5 million liters (seven million gallons) of water to fill the tank to a depth of 13 meters (40 feet), making it the largest underwater set ever. The depth and length of time spent underwater meant that the cast and crew had to sometimes go through decompression.

And another account:

Now, after coming all this way, I wasn’t just content with taking photos. No, I hoped the fence and started off to plant my feet on Edoras (the place was deserted, and miles from anything). Unfortunately I had some unforseen obstacles – namely various arms of river that passes Mt Sunday. The first bit, no worries, shoes and socks off and trousers rolled up tp my knees I waded across. I put shoes and socks back on. Then next two arms were much bigger and closer together though, in the end I had to go a long way up to cross wider, shallower bits, walking about with bare feet, looking rather like a hobbit what with my big, reasonably hairy lumps of meat. Finally I had to climb to the summit, easy to start with, but then I went up the near vertical bit and I was huffing and puffing and sweating like a pig by the time I crested the top. I lay down before exploring. Unfortunatley there is no evidence of the buildings – part of the deal the production company did with the DOC (dept of conservation) was to clear up behind them. So I contented myself with taking more photos and standing on the very spot Meduseld was built. Then I noticed a car coming down the track. I hid and dug out my monocular from my pack. It stopped at the gate, after 10 mins watching two people who obviously didn’t know what they were doing either, I started to make my descent. Then I saw another car, staying low I watched it past. Then I made the dash down from Edoras. I had spotted an easier, more direct route from the vantage that Mt Sunday offered, so off I went, down the road that leads to Edoras (I assume built for the production). I crossed the first bit sans shoes and socks. The second bit was deeper (and fater moving), but I couldn’t be bothered looking for another crossing, so off came the trousers and I crossed in my boxers (very refreshing in ice cold river water, especially as it wasn’t a particularly hit day). Made it back to the car okay. The other car that had stopped by the gate had gone. After the event I thought how much trouble I could have been in, if I was caught, but it’s definitely left me with an interesting tale. 

 

  

7 Responses

  1. The Abyss site was as you know formally intended to be the DUke Power Nuclear site in Cherokee County. This was aboandoned before completion and NC filmaker Earl Owensby bought the property. The property has changed hands a coule of times through the years. But alas, Duke Power is /has again made public its intentions to in-fact build a Nuclear plant here. As of this writing the last word in our local paper, The Gaffney Ledger, Duke is currenlty attempting to secure permits, which is about a 6 year process. If this succeeds, it promises about 800 new jobs to the communtiy.

  2. I had the chance to photograph the site a few days after they drained everything which exposed Deepcore:

    http://www.historicdecay.com/component/option,com_rsgallery2/Itemid,26/catid,5/

    I believe it’s demolished now.

  3. Hello David,

    I’ve been searching around all day for your excellent deepcore photos, but it appears your web site is down.

    I did however enjoy the photos on your flicker account.

    Is there anyway to get copies of the drained A tank with deepcore still intact?

    I’m a very bid fan of The Abyss, and remember finding Mike Prendergast’s photos back in the 90s. I’d very much like to see some of your Deepcore work.

    Curiously your’s,
    Bruce William Harper

  4. My father was very involved in the set of The Abyss. He had many pics of the cast, crew himself ant the director. The steel from the buildings was sold to an Arkansas Steel company which my father worked for, and then sold again. ( you would be surprised where it ended up) . If you are interested in some of his stories, let me know.

  5. Hello, I am a fan of The AByss and would like to hear some of your stories….

  6. if you’re a fan of the Abyss, I’ve got a wool/leather jacket given to cast and some crew members at the wrap party. email brucesmith10@gmail.com and I’ll be happy to send photos and maybe we can work a deal.

  7. Hi there Bruce, I Just sent you an email, and Bob, Id love to hear some of your stories and what you ahve to mention, please feel free to email me gusaweber at gmail.com Thank you!

Leave a Reply

