The Legend of Green Hand Bridge

The following is an excerpt from a local newspaper, The Lancaster News. This story was written by Gregory A. Summers

Credit where credit is due, I always say.

X

The portion of Old Lansford Road between S.C. 9 business and Memorial Park Road is nothing more than an overgrown and under-used eyesore now.

But 100 years ago, the deserted stretch was one of the county’s busiest and most vibrant thoroughfares.

Although it’s now abandoned, the one-lane trestle that crosses Cane Creek has become affectionately known in local folklore as “Green Hand Bridge.”

Two Lancaster County men, who wished to remain anonymous, shared this version of “The Legend of Green Hand Bridge” with The Lancaster News in October 1988.

 

Here’s their story:

“One night, me and some of my friends were coming across here (Old Landsford Road) and we saw him walking on the bank over there,” the man said, as he motioned to an area on the left side of the creek.

“Right there’s where I saw it,” the other man said, pointing to the water below the bridge.

“It was green and coming out of the water. Nothing but the hand.”

Local storytellers say the creek that flows beneath the bridge was once the sight of a fierce American Revolution skirmish. During the course of the struggle, a British soldier’s hand was ripped from his arm by a saber and fell into the murky waters below the bridge.

And sometimes on nights of good visibility, his wandering spirit can be seen combing the edge of the stream in search of his missing appendage and his sword.

_______________________________________________________________

A strange place during the day. I went as far as I could into the woods on this little one lane dirt road until a fallen tree blocked our path. I left the wife and daughter at the truck and went ahead on foot.

There is a wide open path to the site. The bridge is definitely in disrepair but, as has been stated, the county doesn’t keep it up anymore. I got a feeling of being watched while I was here, but I wasn’t spooked. No big scary during the daytime. There are some really interesting old bridges around here that are basically just lost to nature. I really suggest that you visit them if you have the chance. There is a strange feeling in it for you, finding modern architecture just being taken back over by nature.

Watch the vid. This ghost is a thief. We lost a headlight on this outing and cannot explain its disappearance. As far as I can tell, the ghost needed the light for his nightly searches……

X

8 Responses

  1. Now this is something I can relate to. I was born & raised in Lancaster, SC. All my life I have herad of “The Green Hand Bridge”. When I started dateing often my date would take me to the “The Bridge”. This had become sort of a Lovers Lane for its remote location. I have been to “The Green Hand Bride” more times than I can count. You use to could drive across “The Bridge”. Now the road is almost compleaty washed out and you have to walk in if you want to go. I have heard the story several ways. One way was that a car accident happened there and a little girl was killed. They found her body except one of her hands. one of the Legeand have it-that some nights when there is no moon-and it is foggie out-if you look over the bridge you can see her hand’ covered in green moss trying to find it’s way to her body. Do I beleive this tale? Well it sure brought me closer to my dates when they told me about them….lol

  2. I am from Lancaster, and I remember Green Hand Bridge. We would often go on family outings that lasted all day, and by the time we started to make our way home, it would be growing dark. My dad would drive us to green hand bridge and stop the car in the middle of the bridge. I never recall seeing anything, but it sure was frightening when dad stopped on that bridge, telling the story of green hand bridge. The version he told was that a teenage girl crashed her car into the creek and died. When she was recovered, she was missing a hand. That hand, moss covered, comes out on full moon nights, searching for her body.

  3. this old bridge is creepy,we used to walk there in the 90s its a long way out after you get to the bridge.always looking over my shoulder.thats the good memories.

  4. I grew up right down the street from this bridge.We would cut school and hang out around it all day.I have heard all the different stories about the bridge and they all are equally scary. I have even been out there at midnight. We didn’t see anything,but it was still creepy.

  5. This is what one of my mom’s friends shared with me; Sometime in the 80’s her and some of her friends we’re driving around one night. They we’re driving on the bridge and decided that they wanted too play a joke on her. While driving on The Green Hand Bridge ?, they barely even stopped and threw her out the car. Her friends had left her out there by herself…..with absolutely no one else around at the time. It was pitch black, soo she reached inside her pocket and got her flashlight keychain. After a few minutes she kept talking thinking her friends we’re near by. Then all of a sudden she heard movement in the water under the bridge and then crunching in the leaves. She screamed before she could even see what it had been. Dropping her flashlight she closed her eyes and noticed that the sound and “person” had vanished. After she screamed, she had noticed another thing; her friends we’re close enough too hear her bloody screams. They turned the car on, then came and got her. When they picked her up she was crying and just wanted too get home……..But the same story she had heard was about the man who had gotten his hand chopped off by his sword. Sometimes you could actually see his hand, covered in moss. And even see or hear the man searching for his lost items….sounds believable too me!

  6. Another thing….they went back the next morning and saw that her flashlight keychain was nowhere too be found :/

  7. Sounds like a fun place to go. Anyone been recently?

  8. I used to live on Wade street. I walked down my road and to the Bridge.

Leave a Reply

